Oldest Stone House Museum
Nicholson House Rentals
History of the Society
Lakewood Preservation Fund
Online Exhibit: Theodor Kundtz
Artifacts: Newsletter Articles
Lakewood Historical Society
Mazie M. Adams, Executive Director
14710 Lake Avenue
Lakewood, Ohio 44107
Oldest Stone House Museum
A House Full of History
The Oldest Stone House, operated by the Lakewood Historical Society, is an 1834 dwelling typical of many that stood in Rockport Township (now Lakewood). A window into Lakewood's past, the museum accurately interprets the everyday lives of Lakewood's people from 1834 to the late 1890s.
John Honam built his home on Detroit Avenue using locally quarried sandstone. One of Lakewood's earliest settlers, Mr. Honam's nearly 100 acre parcel extended form Detroit Avenue to the shores of Lake Erie. Although moved from its first location, the Oldest Stone House sits on part of Honam's original property.
John Honam and later, his daughter Isabella Hotchkiss, used the Oldest Stone House as their family residence until 1897. After that time, the building served a variety of commercial purposes, including a post office, shoe repair shop and upholsterer's store. In 1952, the home was saved from demolition by the Lakewood Historical Society and moved to its current location in Lakewood Park.
Furnished to the late 19th century, artifacts in the Oldest Stone House include furniture, household goods, kitchen equipment, tools and more that help tell the story of Lakewood's earliest residents. Guided tours explore the early history of Lakewood, including the social and economic drives that impacted the development of Rockport Township from a small, rural community to a thriving Victorian village.
Outside the House
Behind the house, visitors can explore the lovely herb garden, a source for scents, dyes and flavoring used in early settler cooking. Also int eh garden are tombstones for several earlier residents of Lakewood, although there are no graves in the garden.
Home of the Lakewood Historical Society
The Oldest Stone House museum also serves as the home of the Lakewood Historical Society. The society's archival, textiles, photographs and artifacts encompass the history of our community up to the present day. Our reference library includes city directories, maps, primary sources and general Lakewood and Ohio history books. The unique collections of the society attract researchers from across the world and are available by appointment.
Guided tours of the Oldest Stone House Museum are conducted on Wednesdays from 1-4 p.m. and Sundays from 2-5 p.m. Group tours for students and adults can be arranged by contacting the museum office. Closed on major holidays.
Admission to the Oldest Stone House Museum is free but donations are welcome. The Oldest Stone House Museum, in keeping with its 19th century architecture, is not fully handicapped accessible.